New Topic Add Reply
Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ]
tipud

Newborn

Newborn
Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:50 pm

Hi
I am new to SEO and Powersuite.

My question is basically to find out if ALEXA Ranking is important.
If i was asking potential clients to check their ALEXA Rank and compare to their competitors than i as an 'SEO expert' would have to make their site attain higher ALEXA ranking.
As ALEXA looks at page views / visits if i was to get more visits but less average page views my ranking i assume would go down.

My problem comes down to the clients content if it is of low value will they reach a top level and cannot go beyond that. E.g a client selling socks may get a rank of 500,000 how would i know what sort of level can be reached for this site.

Any sort of guidance would be appreiciated.

Regards

Tipu

LinkAssistant

Site Admin
Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:40 pm

I do not think that Alexa Rank is the best way to track a site's success. It does not update very frequently and may be not very representative. You can read more about it here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alexa_Inte ... xa_Toolbar
Quote:
My problem comes down to the clients content if it is of low value will they reach a top level and cannot go beyond that. E.g a client selling socks may get a rank of 500,000 how would i know what sort of level can be reached for this site.
Well, technically a sock-selling site can have brilliant and witty content, contests, link baits etc. and drive a lot of traffic :)

A better way to track your site's success is to track the rankings for your main keywords. If you are in top 3 results for your main keywords then you can be sure you're getting as much traffic as possible from the given search engine and you can look for other ways of getting traffic, ones beyond SEO.

tipud

Newborn

Newborn
Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:12 pm

One of my sites is ranked 275000.
i had removed (accidently) the 'login to read more' so everyone could read without registering.